Close this search box.
Close this search box.
SU 07/05/2023 Hours 21:00 Tickets no longer available
Chiesa San Matteo di Laigueglia, Savona

Mozart l’italiano

The Mozart the Italian cycle with two Mozart symphonies and three pieces from the 18th-century Italian tradition. Simone Ori directs

Symphony n. 6 in F major K 43

Ouverture La rivoluzione
(first modern performance)
transcription by Simone Laghi

Symphony BI 533
edition and revision by Vanni Moretto

Symphony n. 28 in C major K. 200

Simone Ori

Opera Carlo Felice Genova Orchestra

The concert series Mozart l’italiano continues with two Symphonies by W.A. Mozart and three musical pieces from the XVII-century Italian tradition.

The Symphony K. 43 marks an important moment of Mozart’s symphonic style Although it was written in 1767, when the composer was still a forming composer 11-year-old boy, the K. 43 is the first symphony structured in four parts written by Mozart. A fundamental passage witnessing the influence of Haydn’s style and of the Viennese musical culture at that time. The writing becomes progressively more dense. In such a progression – expressed for instance by the doubling of the viola – Giovanni Carli Ballola identifies a reference to the Neapolitan Baroque style, specifically in the music of Jommelli. With his Symphony K. 43, Mozart begins a more commited approach to composition marking definitively the developement of his style.

Francesco Galeazzi lived between 1758 and 1819 in Turin, Rome and Ascoli Piceno. Violinist, orchestra conductor, composer and teacher, he is mostly remembered as a theorist. He wrote many treaties of musical theory, musical history, harmony and , storia della musica, armonia and counterpoint (but also of natural sciences and history). As a composer, he wrote almost exclusively instrumental music with a tendency to intertwine music and mathematics, specifically through arithmetic theories of the Pythagorean scale. He probably chose to dedicate his efforts to instrumental music to deepen this almost scientific perspective of his free from the boundaries imposed by vocal music and, therefore, words. The Ouverture La rivoluzione is first represented in modern times in the transcription by Simone Laghi. Galeazzi was contemporary of Alessandro Rolla, composer and violinist. Renowned virtuoso, he was the master of Niccolò Paganini and became first violinist and orchestra conductor at Teatro alla Scala from 1803 to 1833. As a composer, he mainly wrote chamber music and concerts for violin and viola. He composed two symphonies representing at best his style with Classical forms and a brilliant, refined writing where strings have a relevant role. Symphony BI 533 is here performed in the edition by Vanni Moretto.

The Symphony n. 28 was composed by Mozart in 1776, during a stay in Vienna. Just like in the other three symphonies composed in the same period, the influence of Haydn is here quite evident. Mozart further strengthens the structure of the symphony by widening the fourth movement in the form of a sonata, creating an even more solid structure where the impressive first movement is balanced by the finale. Also the structure becomes more articulated and more refined concerning the themes. Themes are also connected to each other through a system of references, giving every movement a thematic structure of its own and then uniting them in a collective coherence across the various movements.

Ludovica Gelpi